The NSW State Government has today announced a proposal to merge dozens of local councils across the state, creating larger municipalities.

Under the plan Newcastle and Port Stephens will merge. Dungog and Gloucester combine, Lake Macquarie and Maitland councils continue to stand alone, Wyong and Gosford will merge.

Other regional local councils affected include Guyra and Armidale Dumaresq councils, Tamworth Regional and Walcha councils.

In total, 152 local councils will be reduced to 112, and in the Sydney area, 43 councils will be reduced to 25. The decision to merge a number of councils was based on a Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) review, that found that the majority of local councils were unfit to deal with the future.

The mergers were announced by Premier Mike Baird this morning. Further details tonight at 6pm.

Image courtesy Local Government Council website.

text will be replaced