Socceroos coach Ange Postecoglou has named a 23-man squad ahead of the World Cup qualifying series.

The squad, which will see the return of star forward Tim Cahill and defender Matthew Spiranovic, heads to Kyrgyzstan on June 16, with Jordan, Tajikistan and Bangladesh also in their pool group.

“This is the start of the next chapter in our journey and we are all excited about what lies ahead over the next two years,” Postecoglou said.

“We have been open in our desire to make an impact at the 2018 World Cup but first we need to qualify and that task is immediately in front of us.”

“We have selected a relatively settled squad made up of the core of players that brought success at the Asian Cup, but also the core of players that will take us through to the next World Cup.”

Here is the full squad:

Aziz Behich
Oliver Bozanic
Nathan Burns
Tim Cahill
Jason Davidson
Tarek Elrich
Ivan Franjic
Eugene Galekovic
Chris Ikonomidis
Mile Jedinak
Tomi Juric
Mitchell Langerak
Mathew Leckie
Massimo Luongo
Matt McKay
Mark Milligan
Tommy Oar
Mat Ryan
Trent Sainsbury
Matthew Spiranovic
James Troisi
Alex Wilkinson
Bailey Wright